Yoga Interview

Where do you currently reside?

Wow, that is a hard question. I reside in the USA, though currently I am in between States. It is rather befitting the use of the word States, since we are all between States of awareness, and the only place to truly reside in is the Awakened State.

-As it stands I am writing these answer sitting on my mattress in the city of Leipzig, Germany where I am finishing an advanced Thai Yoga Massage course. Tomorrow I will be going to Berlin, Germany to teach a 10 day Bikyasa Yoga immersion. I was inspired to create Bikyasa Yoga through my Ashtanga and Hot Yoga practice, as well as Osho teaching and modern music inspiration.

What’s your favorite pose right now and why?

My favorite pose? Interesting. I always get my students to appreciate how they tend to have poses they like and poses they don’t like, and then to rephrase it in such a way that they realize that there is no pose we should “like” or “dislike.” Rather than moving between edges, discover the meaning behind Lao Tzu’s words: “rather than have edges, be soft, and those who find softness, find the highest place in the world.”

-None the less, since my primary practice is Ashtanga in the morning and Yin in the evening, I must admit I enjoy “saddle” tremendously right now, and maybe because I have a left ankle issue at the moment and it seems to help it.

Where is your favorite place to practice?

I love Tim Miller’s studio in CA. It is my favorite place to practice because of the respect and love I have for Tim as my teacher. I have yet to meet his equal, both in calmness, understanding, and the love his gives all his students.

-I love practicing outside as often as I can, and one of the most serene places I have practiced was over looking the waters in the Island of Iz in Croatia. Granted that is not the most accessible place for a daily morning practice, but in my traveling world, neither is Tim’s studio.

Thus I end up enjoying each morning and the sheer fact that I even get to practice. Sometimes it is in a spacious yoga room, sometimes it is in a rest stop in the USA, sometimes in a small hall way in a hotel room.

What’s on your playlist right now?

Dave Stringer – Arati Karu
Krishna Das – Hanuman Chleesa
Eminem – W.T.P
J.Lo – On the floor
Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah
Deva Premal – Gayatri Mantra
Wah – Ganesha
Wade Imre Morissette – Guru Ma

If we followed you home right now and peaked in your refrigerator, what treasures might we find?

Strawberries, red wine, ginger, half cut lemon, and bananas is what you will find in the fridge at the yoga studio. The red wine was already here when I arrived, but I am like Rumi – “we have a big barrel of wine, but no cups…that’s fine with us.”

What is one thing that has happened to you in your life that’s made the biggest impact on who you are today?

I read Tom Robins “Jitterbug Perfume.” It changed my life forever….

What’s one thing that if the yoga community came together on – would make the biggest difference on the planet?

In my opinion?

-If the yoga community stopped buying and started giving to the people who need it in their communities rather than in far away countries.

-Giving time, energy, attention, and classes to those who can’t afford it, those who have think yoga is a religion, and those who feel intimidated in going to class with so many “fit” people.
 
If you could wave a wand over the planet…. what would your fairy dust create?

Joy.
-Granted the Upanishads say “we came here from Joy, we are sustained by Joy, and we will go back to Joy,” the world could use more Joyfullness.

Who’s your biggest inspiration and why?

That’s hard to answer….Any name I mention that is alive, will make me feel that I left someone else out.

-Hanuman is my biggest inspiration. When he was a boy a spell was put on him, that he would not remember he is a god until someone reminded him of it.

-We are all like Hanuman, waiting for Rama to remind us of how amazing we are.
Yoga, Love, Prayer, Serving others – these are all the “Rama”s that we have available to us to remind us of who we really are.
 
-A game that Moses and Zee created is called the “Acknowledgement game” where you give thanks and acknowledge someone in your life publicly.

Who would you like to acknowledge?

-I would like to acknowledge my mother and father. My first teacher John DeMinico, my ashtanga teachers Tim Miller, Anthony ‘Prem’ Carlisi and Lisa Schrempp, along with giving a special honor to Sri. K. Pattabhi Jois who I had the honor of both practicing with and listening to a lecture that defied why he is my teacher and will always be my teacher (in an answer to the question ‘what is Yoga?’ SKPJ said without blinking: ‘yoga is to find God.’).

-I want to acknowledge my teacher David Deida, and also my students, who are the greatest teachers. You guys teach me how to be humble, aware and offering what is of service to you, not just what I want to share.
Thank you so much for allowing me to share these answers and be part of your Yoga community.

My web sites:

www.yinyasayoga.com – free yin yasa yoga book for download and join my newsletter.
www.h3yoga.com – this website is for people invite me to run a yoga teacher training in their yoga studio.
www.gabeyoga.com – working on switching http://www.gabrielazoulay.com to this domain
www.healthwellnessyoga.com – my bog about my travels and nutrition and other fun things.
www.integrativethai.com – an online book with videos on Thai massage.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cyriac Joseph
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 21:46:21

    wise comment “If the yoga community stopped buying and started giving to the people who need it in their communities rather than in far away countries.” . Just wish more yoga and Thai Yoga Massage practitioners thought like that

    Reply

Leave a Reply

