Day 24 – beats

They come in rhythm, they come in droves, they come with spirited song, and they come with colorful expressions. Whether these are the beats on your drum, on your dash board, on an empty can, using a pencil at the office, a pen when doodling, or a stick to express yourself through. Beats excite you, elevate you, free your soul.

If beats can do all that, what do you think Beets can do? yesterday we talked about Root vegetables, and how much they can enhance your overall excitement of life, love, and work. As if by divine synchronicity my Raw Chef made Beet pasta, mixed with carrots (another root vegetable), and other yummy ingredients. Aren’t you lucky? I know I felt very fortunate.

Hopefully you are beginning to look at food and how it relates to your body, from where it grows (roots in the ground, like our sexual organs rooted below), it’s shape (walnuts look like? they look like your brain. what are they good for? your brain!!), it’s color (red fruits are great for your blood cardiovascular system), and texture (cucumber, feels like the skin, good for the skin). I’ll write more about food and its energetic expression and how easy it is to spot the right one for you over the next few days.

As for the workout today, P90X for shoulders and arms, I used the strap today, after realizing that I made it to Wal Mart last night, but completely forgot that I needed weights. The band is cumbersome, but better than not using anything at all, right?
It made for a better workout, however, as with every other video this week, I am stoked to have it mixed up around next week.

Tony Horton is a great motivator and fitness guy, but repetition is repetition and listening to the same thing over and over gets boring. Granted it took a month for it to get a little redundant (granted the workouts are tough and I doubt they can ever get redundant), it will be fun to have a new mix next week. Muscle confusion everyone, that is the main premise behind P90X. And a rather good one.

I’m kind of surprised that I can do the same Yoga sequence practice every day and never tire of it, and yet, I get tired of all other repetition style activities. Maybe because with my Ashtanga practice I don’t have to listen to any one, and everything else I am at the mercy of the speaker.

What ever it is, the food is unique, and Raw eating has yet to become redundant. Won’t say I don’t miss cooked food, I had to eat some of my son’s pasta shell kids side, and those 3 bites (my wife said it was a good kind of cheating since we did not want to waste his food) reminded me of the magic of cooking, yet  I will say this. It did not feel as soft or light in my body as not taking those bites. I quit eating meat because I realized the same type of sensation. Without meat in the meal the body feels lighter, yet stronger, more energetic and not so lethargic. Today I experienced the same thing with Pasta. Now it could just be the heaviness of pasta, rather than the loss of energy through cooking. As it stands, that was my personal experience and I wanted to share it with all of you.

Beets Arrabiatta Pasta

2 Beets (spiral into pasta)
1 carrot (Grated)
brunch of parsley (finely chopped)
1/2 red pepper (diced)
1/4 cup olive
Sauce:
1 roma tomato
1 red pepper
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, chili powder
juice of 1 lemon
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 Sea salt
Blend above ingredient till smooth, then add
1/4 cup soaked sundried tomato
Blend till smooth and drizzle over pasta.
Yummy!!!
Leave a Reply

