Day 22 – Indian

It was a rainy cold day in AZ today. I found myself tucked under my covers till very late in the morning. Crazy? I like to think not. A Yoga master was once asked ‘what is Enlightment?’ and with a smile he replied “Sleep when you want, Eat when you want, Shit when you want.”
Notice the balance, sleeping, eating, eliminating. Where most of us, sleep whenever, eat whatever, and often do not eliminate for a few days (by this point at age 35 I have met an equal number of women and men who have elimination problems). What you eat affects how you sleep which affects what leaves your body.

That’s one good thing about eating raw food, it comes in, and quickly leaves, preparing the body to sleep, as I have slept till late. Granted I have my own demons I deal with like any one else, and tension we experience at home or work affects our sleep and drives us to certain foods that make us feel warm and loved, and if unchecked can turn into cravings and over long periods, addictions. And you can even get addicted to Raw Food, though somehow that is better than being addicted to White Sugar (which is in white bread, bagels, pasta, ketchup, sweet corn, ice cream, microwave foods, and many more).

P90X started me off, and I must admit, a little secret to you all, I am glad next week things get turned around some, not sure what, I have not checked that far ahead yet, but it will be changing. My body knows now that Monday is chest and back, a work out which is challenging to me. I still need a ledge to pull up, and I crash at 15 push ups, which is better than last week I guess, so there is improvement, even if small. Yoga is actually a little easier, but still nothing to write home to Mamma about. The day my hips completely open and my neck does not suffer from ‘leg behind the head’ is the day I will broadcast Raw and P90 as the keys to most Pitta/Kapha guys/girls who are struggling with the first and second series postures.

My India dinner on the other hand, that is a master piece to be promoted all over. The chef told me it was a remake of Gabriel Cousins of “Tree of Life” Indian recipe. What ever it was, it was once again a reminder that in Raw eating everything is possible. This dish was warm, looked as if it was cooked in a tandoori pot, and the rice only complete the picture. Take a look for yourself.

Have fun trying it out, it is spicy, though the chef claims it is not spicy enough (I disagree, I was bursting with flavor and warmth, and chances are that unless you have a high tendency toward spice you will be more than satisfied).

Indian Curry Vegetables

1/2 cauliflower, broccoli and carrot, chopped into bite size.
1/2 cup peas
1/2 cup macadamia nuts
1/4 cup olive oil
2 Tbsp garam masala
1 Tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper ( you can put less if you don’t like it spicy)
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 sea salt
water as needed
In a high speed blender, add nuts and olive oil, blend till smooth. Add garam masala, curry powder, Cayenne pepper, sea salt and lemon juice, blend till its smooth and creamy.
Add water if needed.
Mixed sauce with veggies, massage well and make sure all is coated.
serve immediately with jicama rice or place in dehydrator for 1 hours.
Enjoy!!!
Leave a Reply

