Day 10 – cravings

I don’t know if it was sleeping at a friend’s house, or driving for so long, or maybe the rainy, cold, cloudy day, but I felt my limitations today. It could have been my abstaining at eating Indian food the night before. What ever it is, my mind and body were reaching for something new, something cooked, something baked, something packaged, something wrapped. Well, that is why we call it a challenge, right?

I passed my personal challenges, as I had none of the above products pass through my larynx, though I had to breath my way through the day.

We decided to go to Tomatoes, a salad and soup ‘all you can eat’ restaurant, which allowed me to pile my plate with colors, leaves, and spices (good ol’ jalapenos to the rescue), and in hind sight, I think the sweetness of the French dressing started my craving fix for the afternoon. I had gone for a second serving, piling my plate with mushrooms and cucumbers so I could dip them in the creamy, sweet sauce. It was delicious.

I managed to curb my fix for sweet packaged goods with Revolution Raw Bar. Those are a true delicacy for the Raw eater. I had discovered them a few years ago when we carried them in my Thai Massage and Yoga center (www.rejuvenationAZ.com), and they sure came to the rescue today, providing the mental ease to complete the two and a half hour drive home.

Though we stayed up to the late hours of the night talking about nutrition and cleansing, exploring the difference between the master cleanse and adding probiotics to one’s daily nutrition, I woke up and did my P90X (after all, it is a double challenge). The shoulder and arms routine is actually very fun. Granted I am positive I do not have the right weights for the program, using two 1-liter bottles filled with water as my weights, I do not really feel a burn. I’ll get some for next week, but his concept is very simple, shoulder, bicept, tricepts. Or shoulders, Bi, Tri. Try it next time at the gym for those of you who lift regularly.

The AbRipperX still kills me, I have yet to complete all sets in each of the 11 routines, and it feels inspiring to know that this program is KICKING my ass at times. Here I thought I was pretty fit guy, and while I may complete the first and second series of Ashtanga Yoga, there is still much more my body can grow into. Bring it!

That’s what I call Integrative Awareness. One thing is not enough and your mind/body will want some variety over time, whether it is food, a workout, the layout of your furniture. You need some change, so spice it up everyone.

My evening salad, a feast of colors, tastes and above all saltiness, achieves its promised craving reduction because of the green olives and pickles which you will have to seek from an Israeli or Jewish deli, or the international section of your local wellness food stores. Can’t go wrong with sliced green olives. Yummy in the tummy.

Mediterranean Salad
2 cup of chopped romanine lettuce
1/4 cup of green olive
2 sliced pickles
1/3 cup of chopped cucumber
1 diced tomato
1/2 diced carrot
1/2 diced celery
1 Tbsp flax seed oil
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp lemon juice
pinch of sea salt
dash of black pepper and paprika

Leave a comment