Day 4 – back to normalicy

It does not change, like a clock, you get to day 4 and suddenly everything is calm again.

Have you ever lived by the ocean? There is a certain calm that descend after a storm. As humans we might consider storms to be some sort of horrible Natural experience, when truly, Mother Nature also needs moment of cleansing. And that is what we do when we decide to change our health. We have to storm all the habits, the cells who have developed a taste for all that modern culture offers, which play on our basic desire for sugar and fat.

I mean, come on, think about it, here you are, a human animal, grazing for any type of edible plant, fruit, root, or leaf, while salivating over the larger animals around. You hunt, yet, those sweet berries that the gatherers have found seem so much more delicious than the hard hunted meat. Well, for some more than others, but the lack of such meat and fruit, the tough road that brought that food to the plate, our genes have developed a taste for them. As a culture, as natural manifestations, Human beings are the super computer. We pass onto our siblings genetic information, as well as cultural understanding about what is good food, what is not.

Today, all you have to do is go down to the nearest supermarket and without needing to make any effort you can find Nature’s glorious selection, and so much more.

It is a storm to go from eating packaged meals (my wife hated that), vegetarian as they might be, Morning star’s burgers and chicken nuggets, soy ice cream, and gummy bears at least 3 times a week. Dole juice, gateroade, vitamin water, basically sugar water (so good, especially after and during Bikram yoga), so yeah, it is a storm to fast, challenge a new eating pattern, or even try and change your attitude.

Forget how you eat, for the next 7 days say ‘yes’ every time you wish to say the reverse. Let your thoughts be positive, and when they are not, put a positive spin on to it. Like, ‘I can’t believe I have to do this task’ can become ‘I managed this task last time, I can do it today.’

That’ll be an interesting mental storm you’ll find yourself in by the first hour, however, if you make it 7 days, without cheating, you’ll be completely transformed.

With this spirit of transformation I shook myself out of bed and discovered that today P90X routine was Yoga, and while I think Tony did a better job than most teachers in designing a routine that is balanced both physically and neurologically (energetically), since I practice Ashtanga daily, I substituted YogaX with CardioX. The kenpo moves are thrilling, something about punching and kicking that gets residual tension out of the system. My body is feeling the workouts (my Pectoralis muscles are constantly speaking to me when I moved my arms), though I have yet to experience the sense of enhanced freedom in my yoga practice.

I am eager to see what happens to my Yoga practice through all of this. I mentioned to my wife today that my Yoga practice is the best teacher about whether my eating explorations support me or not. Over the years I have discovered that unless you are choosing to tie yourself up in an intense yoga practice, you can eat what ever you like, so long as you practice that yoga every day.

Bikram Choudhury says the same thing. While I am an ashtangi, the Bikram method is incredible. If you go every day for 60 days, you’ll be in incredible shape, regardless of what you eat. More than that, if you complete 60 days, your body will steer you away from what you don’t need and feed you not only what you desire, but what you need. I can’t explain it, but after 15 years of practice, testing it out for myself, I can tell you it is true.

But this is about P90X, and the challenge of eating Raw. So, while you might go eat what ever you like and snack on some of these dishes at your leisure, I get to take the Raw exploration to the limit. While my lunch was the Raw salad selection at Whole Foods (and boy do they have great deals on food these days. You want to eat wholesome and healthy for $7, go there. Though, most of us want the waitress, the drink, and the comfort of food delivered to us). My dinner was a fabulous, fabulous Raw falafels, with tomato and lettuce, a chipotle sauce, and some hummus. I figured hummus was like edamame, on the border, and lucky for me, on my side of the fence. So I savored every taste of it with some raw bread. I am satisfied right now.

The falafel recipe will be included in a later post, but I will leave you with a delicious, sweet yet slightly tangy super size explosion for your tongue.

Grapefruit Greens – The Kale and Fennel tournament

1 Brunch of Kale (Wash and chopped)

1/2 Fennel (washed and thinly shaved)
1/2 Grapefruit (Peeled and cubed)
1 Tbsp Hemp Seeds
2 Tbsp Cranberries
1 Tbsp of lemon juice
1/4 sea salt
3 Tbsp Avocado oil
In a big bowl, place kale, fennel, grapefruit, hemp seeds and cranberries
mixed oil, lemon juice and sea salt together
Drizzle over salad, toss well and yummy salad is ready!!!
Leave a Reply

